NDIS Quality & Safeguards Commission established & Practice Standards

The NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission is a new independent agency established to improve the quality and safety of NDIS supports and services.

It will regulate the NDIS market, provide national consistency, promote safety and quality services, resolve problems and identify areas for improvement

The Commission can be contacted from:

1 July 2018: NSW & SA
1 July 2019: VIC, QLD, TAS, ACT & NT
1 July 2020: WA

Until it starts operating in Qld, the current state or territory requirements for quality and safeguards continue to apply.

The NDIS Practice Standards that an NDIS provider must undertake an assessment against is determined by the provider’s corporate structure and the services approved to deliver. There is one core module and additional supplementary modules depending on the services a provider is approved for.

The core module covers:

• Rights and responsibilities for participants
• Governance and operational management
• The provision of supports, and
• The support provision environment

The supplementary modules cover – high intensity daily personal activities; specialist behaviour support; early childhood supports; specialised support co-ordination; specialist disability accommodation & verification.